14 Dec 2012

F1 team principals vote for Alonso over Vettel

8:45 am on 14 December 2012

Formula One team principals have voted Ferrari's Fernando Alonso their driver of the year, ahead of Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel who became the sport's youngest triple world champion at the age of 25.

A poll of all the team heads carried out by Britain's Autosport magazine, asking them to list their top 10 and award points according to grand prix scoring, placed Alonso first with 269 and Vettel second on 198.

Alonso lost out to Vettel by three points on the track after the season's finale in Brazil last month.

The magazine said eight of the twelve team principals chose Alonso.

The Spaniard was also voted best driver in 2010 when Vettel took his first championship.