30 Dec 2012

Cycling champion knighted in UK New Year Honours

2:37 pm on 30 December 2012

Bradley Wiggins is now Sir Bradley Wiggins.

The first Briton to win the Tour de France cycling race has been knighted in a special United Kingdom New Years Honours list, which acknowledges the success of the home team at the 2012 London Olympics.

Just over a week after winning the Tour, Wiggins won a gold medal in the Olympic time trial, one of 65 medals collected by the British team who finished third in the medals table behind the United States and China.

Ben Ainslie, the most decorated yachtsman in Olympic history with gold medals in four consecutive Games, is also knighted.

So are David Brailsford, the performance director of British cycling and David Tanner, the performance director of British rowing.