13 Apr 2013

McLaughlin becomes youngest winner in V8 history

2:17 pm on 13 April 2013

A 19-year-old from Christchurch has become the youngest-ever winner in Australian V8 Supercars history, with Scott McLaughlin taking out the first race of the Pukekohe meeting.

There was plenty of drama in race one with a flat tyre ruining the champion and polesitter Jamie Whincup chances on the first lap.

That gifted another Australian, Mark Winterbottom, the lead, but the man they call Frosty also blew a tyre putting the Canterbury teenager in front.

McLaughlin led all the way to the finish ahead of Jason Bright in 2nd and Craig Lowndes in 3rd.

New Zealanders Shane van Gisbergen finished 4th and Fabian Coulthard 5th.