8 Jun 2013

Rugby Sevens World Cup squad named

1:27 pm on 8 June 2013

Just three members of the last All Blacks Sevens World Cup side will feature at this year's tournament in Russia later this month.

The side's captain DJ Forbes, Tomasi Cama and Lote Raikabula all played in the 2009 tournament in Dubai.

Coach Sir Gordon Tietjens says he's pleased with the mix of youth and experience in the side which he hopes can win the title for the first time since 2001.

The side will have a training camp in Mount Maunganui before leaving for Moscow in two weeks.

The All Blacks Sevens opening match is against Canada in three weeks' time.

The full squad:

Kurt Baker (Taranaki), Tomasi Cama (Manawatu), Scott Curry (Manawatu), Sam Dickson (Canterbury), DJ Forbes (Counties Manukau), Bryce Heem (Tasman), Gillies Kaka (Hawkes Bay), Tim Mikkelson (Waikato), Waisake Naholo (Taranaki), Lote Raikabula (Wellington), David Raikuna (North Harbour), Sherwin Stowers (Counties Manukau)