18 Jun 2013

V8 Supercars competition to be capped

5:58 am on 18 June 2013

V8 Supercars Australia will discuss capping the number of manufacturers in the championship following Volvo's decision to join the competition next year.

The Swedish manufacturer will form a team called Volvo Polestar Racing with existing outfit Garry Rogers Motorsport in a multi-year, multi-million dollar deal.

The team will race two of the manufacturer's S60 model sedans, raising the number of makes on the V8s grid to five from next year with Nissan, Mercedes-Benz, Holden and Ford already racing.

Current drivers New Zealander Scott McLaughlin and Alex Premat will be retained and race for the team next year, Rogers said.

The manufacturer won the title in 1986, while Jim Richards and Rickard Rydell drove a Volvo S40 to victory in the 1998 Bathurst 1000.