25 Jun 2013

McClenaghan named in tournament team

5:42 am on 25 June 2013

The New Zealand fast bowler Mitchell McClenaghan has been named in a tournament team following the conclusion of the Champions Trophy cricket tournament in Britain.

The team includes five Indian players - Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja and Bhuvneshwar Kumar - two Englishmen, Jonathan Trott and James Anderson, as well as Pakistan's Misbah-ul-Haq, Kumar Sangakkara from Sri Lanka, South Africa's Ryan McLaren and McClenaghan.

Joe Root of England was picked as the 12th man.

Dhoni was named as the captain after he led his side to victory in the final, thus becoming the first captain in the history of the game to lift all three major ICC trophies - ICC World Twenty20 2007, ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 and ICC Champions Trophy 2013.

Team of the Tournament (in batting order):

1- Shikhar Dhawan (India) -363 runs

2- Jonathan Trott (England)-229 runs

3- Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)-222 runs

4- Virat Kohli (India)-176 runs

5- Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan)-173 runs

6- Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicket-keeper/captain) (India)- 27 runs, five catches and four stumpings

7- Ravindra Jadeja (India)-12 wickets & 80 runs

8- Ryan McLaren (South Africa)-83 runs & eight wickets

9- Bhuvneshwar Kumar (India)- six wickets

10- James Anderson (England)-11 wickets

11- Mitchell McClenaghan (New Zealand)-11 wickets

12- Joe Root (England)-173 runs