22 Jan 2009

Tietjens names experienced squad for rest of IRB Sevens World Series

5:51 pm on 22 January 2009

The New Zealand Sevens coach Gordon Tietjens has named an experienced squad to contest the remainder of the IRB World Series which resumes in Wellington next month.

Waikato's Save Tokula is the only new member of the 17-man squad.

North Harbour's Viliame Waqaseduadua and Wellington's Tu Umaga Marshall both make a return to the team, Waqaseduadua having last played in Singapore in 2005 and Marshall in Hong Kong in 2006.

The squad of 17 will be narrowed down to a playing 12 for the third leg of the World Series in the capital on on Waitangi weekend.

New Zealand is second in the series behind South Africa who won in Dubai and George.

The squad for the Rugby World Cup Sevens, which will be held in Dubai from March 5-7, will be selected separately and named towards the end of February.

2009 New Zealand Sevens squad:

Tomasi Cama (Manawatu), Edwin Cocker (Auckland), DJ Forbes (Captain, Counties Manukau), Paul Grant (Otago), Nigel Hunt (Wellington), Solomon King (Bay of Plenty), Zar Lawrence (Bay of Plenty), Tim Nanai Williams (Counties Manukau), Tim Mikkelson (Waikato), Lote Raikabula (Manawatu), Willie Rickards (Southland), Julian Savea (Wellington), Save Tokula (Waikato), Chad Tuhoro (Counties Manukau), Nafi Tuitavake (North Harbour), Tu Umaga Marshall (Wellington), Viliame Waqaseduadua (North Harbour).