4 Feb 2009

Border Medal shared in Australian cricket

5:59 am on 4 February 2009

Australian cricket captain Ricky Ponting and batsman Michael Clarke have tied for their Player of the Year title, the Border Medal.

It is the first time in the 10 year history of the award that there has been a tie.

Ponting and Clarke polled 41 apiece under the Medal's complicated formula, which covered 12 Test and 17 international one-dayers over the last 12 months.

It is Ponting's fourth Border Medal and Clarke's second - Ponting won in 2004, '06 and '07, while Clarke took it out in '05 and paceman Brett Lee was the winner last year.

Left-arm paceman Mitchell Johnson has enjoyed a breakthrough year and he was the popular tip to win the medal.

But Johnson could only manage equal fourth on 30 points with opening batsman Simon Katich, while Michael Hussey was outright third on 38.

Last night's gala function was the first time that the Border Medal was not a night of triumph and celebration for Australian cricket.

The one-day team has lost its No.1 status and Australia also lost Test series to India and South Africa in the last 12 months.