4 Feb 2009

New Zealand to host OFC Under 17 World Cup qualifier

12:22 pm on 4 February 2009

The Oceania Football Confederation has confirmed that New Zealand will host the FIFA Under 17 World Cup qualifier, following extensive flood damage to Fiji recently.

Fiji was scheduled to host the event, but Ba, Nadi and Lautoka suffered major damage to infrastructure and forced the Fiji Football Association to reluctantly confirm its inability to host the tournament last week.

The tournament has been moved to New Zealand and will take place from 20-24 April, 2009.

Initially, seven entries were received for the OFC U-17 Championship with New Caledonia, New Zealand, Tahiti and Vanuatu confirming their participation following the change of venue.

The competition will be played in a round robin format and the winner will represent OFC at the FIFA U-17 World Cup 2009.

Match Days are scheduled for April 21st, 22nd and 24th.

The tournament stadium is yet to be confirmed.

New Zealand are the current champions in this age-group after they won the OFC U-17 Championship - Tahiti 2007 and advanced to the FIFA U-17 World Cup - Korea 2007.