28 Feb 2009

3 players boost NZ ODI cricket squad

2:27 pm on 28 February 2009

Jacob Oram, Jesse Ryder and Kyle Mills return from injury into the New Zealand cricket squad for the first three one day internationals against India.

Ewen Thompson and Nathan McCullum have been omitted from the Twenty20 squad wwhich won their series 2-nil.

Spinner Jeetan patel hasn't made the ODI squad with head selector Glenn Turner saying knowing the way the Indians play spin bowling in limited overs cricket, they think the attack will benefit from having an extra seamer.

Turner says it's fortunate Mills is fit again after injury as his recent form with the new ball in limited overs matches had been outstanding.

The first ODI is at Napier on Tuesday, followed by games at Wellington on Friday and Christchurch on Sunday.

The squad is Daniel Vettori (captain), Neil Broom, Ian Butler, Grant Elliott, Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum, Kyle Mills, Iain O'Brien, Jacob Oram, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.