8 Mar 2009

Heartland Championship schedule released

8:59 am on 8 March 2009

The match schedule for the 2009 Heartland Championship has been released with the Meads and Lochore Cups again up for grabs.

The Heartland Championship kicks off slightly later than normal this year on Saturday 29th August and follows the same format as previous years.

The 12 participating teams split into two pools for five weeks of matches, with the six highest ranking teams then going on to play for the Meads Cup and the remaining six teams playing for the Lochore Cup.

Another key rugby trophy which will take centre stage ahead of the competition with Wairarapa Bush and current Meads Cup champion Wanganui challenging Wellington for the Ranfurly Shield, in pre-season games on the 2nd and the 9th July respectively.