18 Mar 2009

Training squad for Hong Kong sevens named

6:40 pm on 18 March 2009

A 17-strong has assembled in Mount Maunganui to prepare for the Hong Kong and Adelaide legs of the IRB Rugby Sevens World Series.

New Zealand Coach Gordon Tietjens has had to draw on new talent having been forced to omit seven members of his national squad through injury and unavailability.

The final squad will be finalised later this week and leave for Hong Kong on Saturday.

The training squad is: Tomasi Cama (Manawatu), DJ Forbes (Captain, Counties Manukau), Paul Grant (Otago), Luke Hamilton (North Harbour), Joe Hill (Wellington), Nigel Hunt (Bay of Plenty), Solomon King (Bay of Plenty), Zar Lawrence (Bay of Plenty), Lance McDonald (Bay of Plenty), Jordan Puletua (Auckland), Lote Raikabula (Manawatu), Julian Savea (Wellington), Ben Souness (Taranaki), Tutu Tairea (Auckland), Pehi Te Whare (Southland), Save Tokula (Waikato), Chad Tuoro (Counties Manukau).