28 Mar 2009

Van Dyk and Henry to co-captain Magic

3:51 pm on 28 March 2009

Irene van Dyk and Joline Henry have been named as co-captains of the Waikato/Bay of Plenty Magic netball team for the ANZ Championship.

Laura Langman and Casey Williams, Silver Ferns co-captains for last year's series against Australia, former Central Pulse and Samoa captain Frances Solia and Waikato captain Nicola Pettit were all in the mix, making the leadership role a tough choice for coach Noeline Taurua.

In the end, Taurua could not look past veteran shooter van Dyk, heading into her seventh season with the Magic and hard-nosed defender Henry, who has been with the franchise for nine years.

Runners-up in the inaugural year of the trans-Tasman competition, Taurua readily admits off-season acquisitions in Solia, Silver Ferns squad member Leana de Bruin and the highly regarded Jess Tuki have given the Magic a more formidable look for the 2009 edition.

The competition starts next weekend.