29 Mar 2009

Auckland wins NZFC

6:01 pm on 29 March 2009

Auckland City have won the New Zealand Football Championship after beating Waitakere 2-1 in the final in Auckland.

Waitakere scored through Allan Pearce after 15 minutes and looked set for the victory until Auckland scored 2 late goals, the first through Keryn Jordan with 12 minutes to play and then a goalkeeping error by Richard Gillespie gave the winner to Paul Urlovic in the 89th minute.

Auckland hadn't beaten Waitakere in their previous eight meetings in the NZFC or OFC Champions League, a two-year stretch dating back to the 2006-07 grand final, when Auckland claimed their third title.

Auckland won the first 3 NZFC titles, while Waitakere won last year.

The 2 sides meet again next weekend in the Oceania League semi-final.