7 Apr 2009

Squad for ICC World Twenty20 2009 announced

6:40 pm on 7 April 2009

There's one debutant and four recalled players in the New Zealand cricket squad for June's ICC Twenty20 world cup in England.

Brendon Diamanti was part of the squad against Australia in February but didn't take the field. He comes into the side after good form in this season's State Shield, with a batting average of 47.6 and strike rate of 102, and a bowling economy rate of 5.77 in State Twenty20 games.

Peter McGlashan, James Franklin, Kyle Mills and Scott Styris all return.

The final squad of 15 is:

Daniel Vettori (captain)

Neil Broom

Ian Butler

Brendon Diamanti

James Franklin

Martin Guptill

Brendon McCullum

Nathan McCullum

Peter McGlashan

Kyle Mills

Iain O'Brien

Jacob Oram

Jesse Ryder

Scott Styris

Ross Taylor