8 Apr 2009

Symonds, Lee and Watson return - Ponting, Johnson rested

6:49 pm on 8 April 2009

Andrew Symonds, Brett Lee and Shane Watson have all been named in Australia's 14-man squad for the limited overs cricket series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates starting April 22.

Symonds returns following a tumultuous summer that included knee surgery, a prolonged form slump and several off-field incidents.

The chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch says it's up to the Queensland allrounder to seize the opportunity he's been given.

Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson and captain Ricky Ponting will all be rested for the six-match series, to be led by Michael Clarke with Brad Haddin stepping in as vice-captain.

Hilditch says they've been rested ahead of the four-month tour of England later this year.

The rest of the squad is Nathan Bracken, Callum Ferguson, Brett Geeves, Nathan Hauritz, Ben Hilfenhaus, James Hopes, David Hussey, Ben Laughlin and Shaun Marsh.