14 Apr 2009

Matthew Sinclair wins inaugural MVP award

3:47 pm on 14 April 2009

The Central Districts captain and former New Zealand batsman Mathew Sinclair has been awarded domestic cricket's first Most Valuable Player award .

Sinclair finished well ahead of Wellington's Graham Napier with another Central Districts player Ewen Thompson third.

He also won the batting award after averaging more than 80 in the State Championship and State Shield, and more than 50 in the Twenty20 competition.

Sinclair, who was on the losing side in the Championship final against Auckland, says the MVP competition a great initiative.

He says he's really proud to have won and the fact players developed the award means a lot.

Otago's Neil Wagner and Canterbury's Kruger van Wyk won the bowling and fielding awards and Auckland's Tarun Nethula won the overall game average award.