22 Apr 2009

NZ Amateur begins in Auckland

7:29 am on 22 April 2009

Two New Zealand golfers, Peter Spearman-Burn and Lydia Ko, have the chance to create history this week when the New Zealand amateur championship begins in earnest today.

Spearman-Burn of Wellington, the current South Island and North Island champion, can become the first player to win all three major New Zealand Amateur titles in the event's 107-year history.

Ko of North Harbour, who won the North Island title at Muriwai two weeks ago, turns 12 this weekend and has the chance to become the youngest women to ever win the national amateur crown.

The Auckland pair of Ryan Fox and Ben Wallace won the men's foursomes on Tuesday while the internationals Caroline Bon and Larissa Eruera combined to win the women's title at the Remuera Golf Club.

It's just the second time the men and women have contested the New Zealand Amateur concurrently, with the women completing the foursomes and stroke play at Remuera Golf Club until Friday before joining the men at Titirangi Golf Club for match play starting on Sunday.