2 May 2009

Collingwood named as England Twenty20 captain

7:32 am on 2 May 2009

Paul Collingwood, who resigned as England one-day cricket captain last year, has been named to lead the Twenty20 side in next month's World Cup.

Collingwood stepped down because he felt the job was affecting his one-day form.

The all-rounder Andrew Flintoff was named in the 15-man squad subject to a full recovery from the keyhole surgery on his right knee which will keep him out of the two-test series against West Indies, which starts at Lord's next week.

The tournament opens on June 5 with the final at Lord's on June 21.

England: Paul Collingwood (captain), James Anderson, Ravi Bopara, Stuart Broad, Andrew Flintoff, James Foster, Robert Key, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Eoin Morgan, Graham Napier, Kevin Pietersen, Owais Shah, Ryan Sidebottom, Graeme Swann, Luke Wright.