15 Jun 2009

Peugeot take first Le Mans win in 16 years

6:23 am on 15 June 2009

Peugeot clinched their first victory since 1993 in the Le Mans 24 Hours sportscar race with a one-two finish that ended Audi's five-year reign.

Spaniard Marc Gene, Australian David Brabham and Austrian Alexander Wurz completed 382 laps to give the French manufacturer the win in front of a 250,000 home crowd.

Brabham succeeded his elder brother Geoff, who was at the wheel of the winning Peugeot 905 16 years ago.

The eight times champion Tom Kristensen of Denmark, driving the number one Audi, was third after a string of mechanical problems in the closing stages.

Underdogs Aston Martin, who are celebrating the 50th anniversary of their first Le Mans 24 Hours victory, were fourth nine laps off the pace.