3 Sep 2009

8 NZ cricketers nominated for cricket awards

6:18 am on 3 September 2009

Eight New Zealand cricket identities are in the running for the world's top cricketing honours of 2009.

BlackCaps captain Daniel Vettori has been nominated in the cricketer of the year and Test player of the year awards.... Jesse Ryder is up for Test player and Emerging player while Martin Guptill is up for the Emerging player of the year award.

White Ferns Suzie Bates, Haidee Tiffen and Aimee Watkins are also among the nominees, along with international umpires Tony Hill and Billy Bowden.

The long-list of nominees in the Awards was released in Mumbai, India by the ICC - with the winners to be announced at an Awards ceremony in Johannesburg during the ICC Champions Trophy.

Vettori has been nominated in the Cricketer of the Year category, alongside 13 other players including Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Harbhajan Singh (India), Mitchell Johnson (Australia) and Andrew Strauss (England).