8 Sep 2009

Six Tests for Black Caps this summer

6:42 am on 8 September 2009

Cricket fans will see more Test matches this summer than in any previous season, with New Zealand set to face Australia, Pakistan and Bangladesh.

The international schedule New Zealand Cricket's announced features six Tests, eight one day Internationals and three Twenty20 Internationals across the three tours.

Pakistan arrive in mid November to play three Tests as part of their "home" tour which was rescheduled and moved for security reasons.

In February Bangladesh play a Test, three one dayers and a Twenty20 match before Australia arrive to play two Tests, two Twenty20 matches and five one dayers with their tour finishing in late March.

Chief executive Justin Vaughan says there'll be two Tests against Australia, instead of the scheduled three, because the international calendar is congested and it's also not realistic to play test cricket after daylight saving ends.