8 Oct 2009

Groupings announced for 2011 one-day World Cup

8:30 am on 8 October 2009

The draw for cricket's one day world cup in 2011 has been announced with New Zealand in a pool along with defending champions Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Canada and Kenya.

The other group features India, South Africa, England, West Indies, Bangladesh, Ireland and the Netherlands.

The top-ranked Australians have avoided fellow powerhouses and the second and third ranked teams respectively, India and South Africa, in a favourable draw.

The 14-team event will be jointly hosted by India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.