10 Oct 2009

Hayne takes top Paramatta award

8:15 am on 10 October 2009

The awards keep piling up for National Rugby League Dally M medallist Jarryd Hayne after the Parramatta superstar was named the club's player of the year.

Capping a memorable week for the 21-year-old, who played in his first grand final before being recalled to the Australian side for the Four Nations tournament, Hayne was presented with the Ken Thornett Medal at the Eels' presentation night at Rosehill Gardens.

His win brought an end to the dominance of the award by veteran backrower Nathan Hindmarsh, who took home the medal in seven of the nine previous years.

Hayne was instrumental in guiding the Eels to their first grand final since 2001, with the Eels going down 23-16 to Melbourne.

However Hindmarsh didn't go home empty-handed after being named clubman of the year while Daniel Mortimer was a standout selection as rookie of the year.