24 Oct 2009

O'Connor wins Wallaby rookie of the year

12:33 pm on 24 October 2009

The Western Force star James O'Connor has claimed the Wallabies rookie of the year award after an impressive first 12 months at international level.

Still only 19 years old, O'Connor has 10 Test caps to his name, in which he has scored 27 points, since debuting against Italy in Padova on the 2008 Spring Tour.

He has made 14 appearances for the Western Force, scoring six tries and cementing a position in a backline full of Wallabies.

Departing Force first five eight Matt Giteau claimed the big prize awarded on the night, polling 190 votes to win the John Eales Medal.

Nathan Sharpe was second with 161 votes while George Smith was third.

O'Connor and the Wallabies squad depart tomorrow for the Bledisloe Cup clash in Tokyo and the Grand Slam tour.