21 Nov 2009

NZers up for rowing awards

8:32 am on 21 November 2009

New Zealand is well represented in the naming of the finalists for the World Rowing Awards for 2009.

Dick Tonks is up for coach of the year, having previously won the award in 2005.

Single sculler Mahe Drysdale and the pair of Eric Murray and Hamish Bond, who both won world titles this year, are up for crew of the year.

Administrator Don Rowlands, who was chairman of the 1978 world championships in New Zealand, is up for a Distinguished Service to International Rowing award.