27 Nov 2009

Two new faces in New Zealand Sevens squad

12:29 pm on 27 November 2009

There are two newcomers in the New Zealand rugby sevens side for the opening two rounds of the IRB world series in Dubai and South Africa.

Bay of Plenty's Toby Arnold and Wellington's Buxton Popoalii have been named in the 12-man squad which will again be captained by DJ Forbes.

Coach Gordon Tietjens says he's picked a team that's experienced but also has room to develop young players for the 2010 Commonwealth Games.

The side departs for Dubai on Sunday, and will play their first game on December 4th.

The full squad is: Onosai Auva'a, Toby Arnold, Kurt Baker, Tomasi Cama, DJ Forbes, Paul Grant, Zar Lawrence, Buxton Popoalii, Lote Raikabula, Ben Souness, Sherwin Stowers and Save Tokula.