7 Dec 2009

Records fall as Colts and Saints win again in NFL

1:20 pm on 7 December 2009

The Indianapolis Colts marched to a National Football League-record 21st consecutive regular-season victory while New Orleans struggled into over-time before finally keeping an unbeaten pace with the Colts at 12-0.

Payton Manning completed 24-of-37 passes for 270 yards and a touchdown to power host Indianapolis past Tennessee 27-17, the Colts tying the 2006-2008 New England Patriots for the longest in-season victory runs in league history.

The Colts, who can seize sole possession of the regular-season win streak mark with a home victory over Denver next week, also set an NFL record with a seventh consecutive season with 12 or more triumphs.

At Washington, New Orleans quarterback Drew Brees threw two touchdown passes, the last with 79 seconds remaining in regulation time, and Garrett Hartley kicked an 18-yard field goal 6:29 into over-time as the Saints edged Washington 33-30.

The Saints clinched the NFC South division title and a playoff berth with the victory, but barely clung to their unbeaten status against a struggling Redskins squad that fell to 3-9.

Washington's Shaun Suisham was wide to the right with a 23-yard field goal attempt in the closing minutes and Brees answered with an 80-yard drive in just 33 seconds, connecting with Robert Meachem over the middle of the field for a 53-yard touchdown pass to rescue the Saints.

This is the first time in NFL history that two teams have gone undefeated so deep into a season.