21 Dec 2009

Nominations for Halberg Sports awards announced

5:51 pm on 21 December 2009

The leading contenders for the Halberg Sports awards have emerged with so far 66 nominations received for sportsman, sportswoman, team and coach of the year.

The finalists won't be announced until the New Year so late performances by individual athletes or teams during 2009 can be considered.

World champion single sculler Mahe Drysdale appears the leading contender in the sportsman of the year category where there are 17 nominations including All Blacks Richie McCaw and Dan Carter, Black Caps captain Dan Vettori, boxer David Tua and All Whites Ryan Nelson and Rory Fallon.

Shot put world champion Valerie Vili and cycling world champions Allison Shanks head the list of 17 nominations for sportswoman.

The All Whites, world champion rowing pair of Eric Murray and Hamish Bond and the All Blacks are among the `15 nomination for team of the year.

While All Whites coach Ricki Herbert, Vili's coach Kirsten Hellier and Alison Shanks coach Craig Palmer and rowing's Dick Tonks are among the coach of the year nominations.

The full list of nominations:

Sportsman of the Year

Michael Ardern (Paralympics), Dan Carter (rugby), Julian Dean (cycling), Scott Dixon (motor sport), Mahe Drysdale (rowing), Chris Eaden (ice hockey), Rory Fallon (football), Duncan Grant (rowing), Adam Hall (Paralympics), Greg Henderson (cycling), Daniel Holt (Paralympics), Cameron Leslie (Paralympics), Rob Matthews (Paralympics), Richie McCaw (rugby), Peter Michael (speed skating), Adam Minopiro (sailing),

Ryan Nelson (football), Kirk Penney (basketball), Hayden Roulston (cycling), Tom Scully (cycling), Jesse Sergent (cycling), Daniel Sharp (Paralympics), David Tua (boxing) and Daniel Vettori (cricket)

Sportswoman of the Year

Nicole Begg (speed skating), Catherine Cheatley (cycling), Emma Feathery (rowing), Mary Fisher (Paralympics), Paige Hareb (surfing), Andrea Hewitt (triathlon), Miriam Jenkins (Paralympics), Hayley Moorwood (football), Sophie Pascoe (Paralympics), Rebecca Scown (rowing), Alison Shanks (cycling),

Paula Tesoriero (Paralympics), Emma Twigg (rowing), Valerie Vili (athletics), Sarah Walker (cycling),

Casey Williams (netball) and Monique Williams (athletics).

Sports Team of the Year

All Blacks (rugby), All Whites (football), Black Sox (softball), Black Sticks, Men (hockey), Black Sticks, Women (hockey), Brad Jackson and Stu Bannatyne (sailing), Eric Murray and Hamish Bond (rowing), Ice Blacks (ice hockey), Men's Madison (cycling), Men's Team Pursuit (cycling), Silver Ferns (netball), Storm Uru and Peter Taylor (rowing), Tall Blacks (basketball), Women's Team Pursuit (cycling) and Women's 420 (sailing).

Coach of the Year

Ruth Aitken (netball), Tim Carswell (cycling), Dayle Cheatley (cycling), Calvin Ferguson (rowing), Kirsten Hellier (athletics), Ricki Herbert (football), Craig Palmer (cycling), Gordon Tietjens (rugby), Richard Tonks (rowing) and Nenad Vucinic (basketball).