14 Oct 2015

Croatia and Turkey qualify for Euro2016, Dutch miss out

12:34 pm on 14 October 2015

Croatia and Turkey clinched the final automatic qualifying places for the Euro 2016 football championship as the Netherlands, semi-finalists at last year's World Cup, were eliminated.

Netherlands footballer Rober van Persie

Netherlands footballer Rober van Persie Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Turkey beat Iceland 1-0 to secure third place in Group A ahead of the Dutch, who lost 3-2 at home to group winners Czech Republic.

Turkey, who finished behind the Czech Republic and Iceland, gained automatic qualification for the finals in France as the best third-placed side.

The Netherlands were crowned European champions in 1988 and were third in 1992, 2000 and 2004.

Meanwhile, Croatia clinched automatic qualification after a 1-0 win in Malta meant they finished second in group H.

Twenty countries are through to the Euro 2016 finals, including hosts France.

The remaining four finalists will be decided after the two-legged playoffs being held between November 12th and 17th.


France (hosts)

Group A: Iceland, Czech Republic

Group B: Belgium, Wales

Group C: Spain, Slovakia

Group D: Germany, Poland

Group E: England, Switzerland

Group F: Northern Ireland, Romania

Group G: Austria, Russia

Group H: Italy, Croatia

Group I: Portugal, Albania

Best third team: Turkey (Group A)

Eight teams to playoffs:

Group B: Bosnia

Group C: Ukraine

Group D: Ireland

Group E: Slovenia

Group F: Hungary

Group G: Sweden

Group H: Norway

Group I: Denmark