17 Mar 2016

Barcelona and Bayern Munich advance

11:30 am on 17 March 2016

Barcelona's dynamic attacking trio of Neymar, Luis Suarez and Lionel Messi were all on target in a 3-1 victory over Arsenal, sending their side into European football's Champions League quarter-finals 5-1 on aggregate.

Neymar opened the scoring in the first half before Arsenal's Mohamed Elneny curled in an excellent finish to level the scores.

Suarez, however, launched himself into the air to meet a Dani Alves cross and send a superb volley into the top corner after 65 minutes to suppress a second-half revival by the English side, who have now exited in the last 16 for six succesive seasons.

Messi rounded off the scoring with a trademark chipped finish two minutes from time as the hosts extended their unbeaten run to 38 matches in all competitions.

Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d'Or for a record fifth time.

Lionel Messi and Barcelona are through to the Champions League quarterfinals. Photo: Photosport

The defeat will increase the pressure on Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger, whose side are 11 points adrift of leaders Leicester City in the Premier League and exited the FA Cup last weekend.

The Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger.

Arsene Wenger is now under even more pressure at Arsenal. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Bayern Munich scored twice in extra time to battle back from two goals down and beat Juventus 4-2 to also advance to the last eight 6-4 on aggregate.

Thiago Alcantara drilled in after 108 minutes and Kingsley Coman curled in their fourth goal two minutes later as Bayern, who needed a 90th-minute equaliser from Thomas Mueller to force extra time, finished stronger to keep up their treble hopes.

In a reverse of the first leg when Juve came back from a two-goal deficit to draw 2-2, Bayern dug deep to score twice in the second half.

It was a bitter defeat for last season's runners-up Juve, who ran out of steam in extra time to leave domestic titles as their only potential silverware this season.

The Champions League quarterfinalists:

Real Madrid, Paris St Germain, VfL Wolfsburg, Atletico Madrid, Benfica, Manchester City, Bayern Munich, Barcelona.