28 Jun 2016

All NZ driving lineup for DJR Penske in Supercars

2:03 pm on 28 June 2016

There will be an all New Zealand driving lineup for Australian Supercar team DJR Team Penske next season, with Scott McLaughlin having signed with the outfit.

The 23-year-old will leave Garry Rogers Motorsport and join Fabian Coulthard at the Ford team in the new year.

McLaughlin had been strongly linked with the team after Volvo decided to pull its support for Gary Rogers Motorsport.

Scott McLaughlin gets airborne in his Volvo.

Scott McLaughlin is on the move to DJR Penske for the 2017 Supercar season. Photo: Photosport

"We have watched Scott closely over the last few seasons and have admired his talent and his ability to get the best results out of his car week in and week out," American team owner Roger Penske said in a statement.

"As we continue to raise the level of performance at DJR Team Penske we believe he will be a key addition to our team on and off the track."

This year is McLaughlin's fourth as a full-time Supercars driver, with eight race wins and 22 podium results to his name.

He sits third in the championship standings following a double victory at Phillip Island in April.

"This is a great opportunity for me to join one of the most accomplished Supercar teams in history and, hopefully, we can continue to grow together," McLaughlin said.