20 Feb 2010

New Zealand Golf name 10 strong team to contest Australian Amateur Champs

2:10 pm on 20 February 2010

New Zealand Golf will send a 10-strong team to contest the Australian

Amateur Championships in Western Australia next month.

The players will contest the combined men's and women's strokeplay and

amateur at Lake Karrinyup, Cottesloe and Mt Lawley courses in Perth from

March the 17th to 24th.

The six-strong men's squad includes Nick Gillespie, who returns after

more than a year out of the national team.

Takaka's Sean Riordan also returns after some consistently strong

performances, with a newcomer in the squad in Waikato's Matt Perry.

Internationals Ben Campbell (Masterton), Andrew Stewart (Tauranga) and Ryan

Fox (Auckland) are also included.

The women's squad includes national amateur champion Cecilia Cho (Auckland),

who gains her first New Zealand selection after recently gaining her


She joins South island champion Zoe Brake (Whakatane), runner-up Caroline

Bon (Whangarei) and Emily Perry (Hamilton), the leading amateur on The

Charles Tour in 2009.

The squad is:

Men: Ben Campbell (Masterton), Ryan Fox (Auckland), Nick Gillespie (Royal

Wellington), Matt Perry (Hamilton), Sean Riordan (Takaka), Andrew Stewart


Women: Caroline Bon (Northland), Zoe Brake (Whakatane), Cecilia Cho

(Pakuranga), Emily Perry (Lochiel).