3 Mar 2010

Ainslie leads after opening of Auckland regatta

7:06 pm on 3 March 2010

The British Olympic champion Ben Ainslie leads after the opening day of the Auckland Match Racing regatta being sailed on the Waitemata Harbour.

Ainslie's won six of his eight races one more than New Zealanders Dean Barker, world champion Adam Minoprio and Frenchman Bernard Pace who have won five.