14 Apr 2010

Good opening day for Waikato at Amateur Golf Championships

9:34 am on 14 April 2010

Waikato's had a good opening day at the New Zealand Amateur Golf Championships in Hawkes Bay.

Tane Robson and Matt Perry won the men's foursomes title in a fog-delayed one-rounder at Hastings Golf Club.

And in Napier Lochiel's Emily Perry combined with fellow international Caroline Bon of

Northland bag two rounds of three-under 70.

They shared the honours with the Philippines pair of LoveLynn Guiguio and Chihiro Ikeda.

The men's battle was reduced to just one round after fog set in early morning to force a late start at Bridge Pa.

Robson and Perry fired a three-under par 69 to win by one shot from five chasing teams, one of which included the Australian Matt Jager, the defending champion, and Auckland's Ben Wallace.

The strokeplay competition begins today.