22 Apr 2010

Four women, former winners on Indy 500 entry list

6:39 pm on 22 April 2010

Four women and four former winners, including New Zealand's Scott Dixon, are among the 40 driovers who've entered next month's Indianapolis 500.

The defending champion Helio Castroneves headlinesthe list as the Brazilian bids to join A.J. Foyt, Al Unser and Rick Mears as the only four-time winners.

Other former winners back for the May 30 race will include Britons Dario Franchitti and Dan Wheldon.

There could also be four women on the grid, with the only woman to win an Indy Car race, Danica Patrick, another American Sarah Fisher, Venezuela's Milka Duno and the young Swiss Simona De Silvestro all chasing places in the 33-car field.

Qualifying will be held over two days, starting with Pole Day on May 22.