3 May 2010

Hekari United win their first O-League football crown

4:06 pm on 3 May 2010

New Zealand's recent hold on football's O-League has ended, with Waitakere United's 2-1 victory over Papua New Guinea's Hekari United not enough to get the home side their third title.

With a 3-0 lead after the first leg, Hekari becomes the first Oceania country outside Australia and New Zealand to win the title.

In front of the All Whites, and a crowd of more than 2,500, Waitakere got off to the best possible start, scoring through Neil Emblen in the third minute.

But Hekari struck back with a penalty by Kema Jack 10 minutes before the half.

A flurry of chances early in the second half gave the home side confidence, but it took until the 84th minute for them to score again, giving them the 2-1 lead.

Hekari United wins $US500,000 and entry into the World Club Championship in Dubai later this year.