10 May 2010

All Whites team named for World Cup

5:53 pm on 10 May 2010

Canterbury United's Aaron Clapham and United States based Jeremy Christie are the notable inclusions in the New Zealand side to compete at the football World Cup in South Africa next month.

Clapham's inclusion comes after being named Player of the Year, following strong performances in the national football championship.

Christie has been playing the United States after being released from his contract with the Wellington Phoenix last year.

All Whites coach Ricki Herbert says Clapham's slotted into the side well at the recent camp and expects him to be on the international scene for many years.

Former Wellington Phoenix utility David Mulligan has been selected despite not having played any club football last season and being released by the Phoenix in April.

The other player to force his way into the 23-strong squad is Newcastle Jets signing Jeremy Brockie.

Brockie suffered a broken leg during the last A League season, but Herbert says he's proved his fitness to the coaching staff over the past ten days.

Blackburn Rovers central defender Ryan Nelsen will captain the side and will be joined by six other European based professionals, Rory Fallon, Chris Killen, Michael McGlinchey, Winston Reid, Tommy Smith and Chris Wood.

Seventeen members of the squad that played Bahrain in the world cup qualifiers have made the squad, with Waitakere defender Aaron Scott missing out.

The All Whites play Australia in Melbourne today week before heading to Austria for matches against Serbia and Slovenia, before arriving in South Africa on June 6.

The full squad is:

Ryan Nelsen (Blackburn), James Bannatyne (Team Wellington), Andy Barron (Team Wellington), Leo Bertos (Wellington Phoenix), Andy Boyens (New York Red Bulls), Jeremy Brockie (Newcastle Jets), Tim Brown (Wellington Phoenix), Jeremy Christie (FC Tampa Bay Rowdies), Aaron Clapham (Canterbury United), Simon Elliott, Rory Fallon (Plymouth Argyle), Chris Killen (Middlesbrough), Tony Lochhead (Wellington Phoenix), Michael McGlinchey (Motherwell), Glen Moss (Melbourne Victory), David Mulligan, Mark Paston (Wellington Phoenix), Winston Reid (FC Midtjylland, Denmark), Ben Sigmund (Wellington Phoenix), Shane Smeltz (Gold Coast United), Tommy Smith (Ipswich Town), Ivan Vicelich (Auckland City), Chris Wood (West Bromwich Albion)