24 May 2010

Rogers wins Tour of California

2:35 pm on 24 May 2010

Australian rider Michael Rogers has won cycling's Tour of California, after Canada's Ryder Hesjedal won the eighth and final stage.

The Columbia rider Rogers sealed the win, his second stage race of the year, by finishing eighth in the concluding 134.4-kilometres stage, a four-lap circuit race.

Rogers, a three-time world time trial champion, pipped the American Dave Zabriskie by nine seconds overall.

Zabriskie rides for the Garmin team, who New Zealand rider Julian Dean also competes for, though Dean's currently in Italy riding the Giro d'Italia with another version of the team.

Levi Leipheimer of Lance Armstrong's RadioShack team, who'd won the title the three previous year, was third, 25 seconds behind.

Another New Zealander, Jeremy Vennell, was in the running til falling on a hill, though he finished 19th overall.