28 May 2010

Unchanged White Ferns squad for England tour

1:11 pm on 28 May 2010

The New Zealand cricket selectors have announced an unchanged 14-player women's squad for the forthcoming tour of England.

The White Ferns coach and selector Gary Stead says they've kept faith in the same players who reached the final of the World Twenty20 competition in the West Indies and the squad features a nice blend of youth and experience.

Suzie Bates replaces Amy Satterthwaite as vice-captain with an eye on succession planning.

The White Ferns series kicks off at the end of June with the first of three Twenty20 matches against England, followed by a one day international against Ireland, a 50-over match against the England Academy and a five-match ODI series against the world champions England.

Stead says this tour will be used to look at developing some of the new players into important roles.

The first match is on the 29th of June.

White Ferns: Aimee Watkins (captain), Suzie Bates (vice captain), Erin Bermingham, Kate Broadmore, Nicola Browne, Sophie Devine, Natalie Dodd, Lucy Doolan, Maria Fahey, Sara McGlashan, Liz Perry, Rachel Priest, Sian Ruck, Amy Satterthwaite.