2 Jun 2010

NZ Bowls team named for Commonwealth Games

5:04 pm on 2 June 2010

A twelve strong New Zealand bowls team has been named to compete at the Commonwealth Games in India, in October.

The team of six men and six women includes the former world singles champion Val Smith, Richard Girven and Andrew Todd who were members of the 2008 World Champion men's four along with Melbourne Commonwealth bronze medallist Jan Khan.

The National coach David Edwards says the lineup is a strong one.

Members of the team took part in a recent test event on the Commonwealth Games greens in Delhi and Edwards says this has given them an insight in what to expect.

Edwards says the greens were very slow which will suit the Northern Hemisphere competitors, as the New Zealand bowlers are more comfortable on faster greens.

The full team is:

Women: Manu Timoti, Pairs Lead (Whangarei), Dale Lang, Two in Triples (Wellington), Genevieve Baildon , Triples Lead (Hamilton), Jan Khan, Pairs Skip (Christchurch), Karen Coombe, Triples Skip (Wanganui), Val Smith, Singles (Nelson).

Men: Richard Collett, Pairs Lead (Nelson), Shannon McIlroy, Two in Triples (Nelson), Dan Delany, Pairs Skip (Auckland), Ali Forsyth, Singles (Sydney, NSW), Andrew Todd, Triples Lead (Sydney, NSW), Richard Girvan Triples Skip (Nelson's Bay, NSW).