5 Jun 2010

NZ players dominate Oceania award nominations

12:03 pm on 5 June 2010

New Zealand players make up almost half the finalists in contention for the Oceania football player of the year award.

The All Whites and Blackburn captain Ryan Nelsen's is one of three New Zealand finalists in the 10-strong men's category, along with All Whites and Gold Coast A-League striker Shane Smeltz and All Whites defender Ivan Vicelich.

Six New Zealanders have been also been selected among the 10 finalists in the women's category.

They are Amber Hearn, Hayley Moorwood, Ali Riley, Rebecca Smith, Kirsty Yallop and Rosie White.

The winners will be annouced later this month.