9 Jun 2010

Jamie Joseph names youthful side for New Zealand Maori's first clash of the year

4:19 pm on 9 June 2010

The New Zealand Māori rugby coach Jamie Joseph has named nine possible debutants in the team to take on the New Zealand Barbarians in the first game of the New Zealand Māori Centenary Series on Saturday in Whangarei, including four debutants in the starting fifteen.

The Wellington lock Daniel Ramsay of Kāi Tahu, Waikato centre Jackson Willison of Ngāti Mahuta, Canterbury winger Sean Maitland of Ngāpuhi and Southland fullback Robbie Robinson of Ngāti Tuwharetoa will make their run on debut while five others have been named on the bench.

However Joseph is confident the side will not lack in experience with Wellington winger Hosea Gear (Ngāti Porou/Ngariki Kaiputahi) making his 13th start for the New Zealand Māori team and captain Liam Messam (Ngai Tuhoe) playing in his 10th match for the side.

The team is (province and iwi):

Bronson Murray Northland Ngāpuhi

Corey Flynn Canterbury Kāi Tahu

Clint Newland Hawke's Bay Ngāti Kahungunu

Isaac Ross Canterbury Ngāti Kahungunu

Daniel Ramsay * Wellington Kāi Tahu

Jarrad Hoeata Taranaki Ngāti Kahungunu/Ngai Tuhoe

Tanerau Latimer Bay of Plenty Tapuika/Ngāti Makino/Te Arawa

Liam Messam ( c ) Waikato Ngai Tuhoe

Chris Smylie North Harbour Ngāti Mutunga

Stephen Brett Canterbury Ngapuhi/Te Arawa

Hosea Gear Wellington Ngāti Porou/Ngariki Kaiputahi

Luke McAlister North Harbour Te Ātiawa

Jackson Willison* Waikato Ngāti Mahuta

Sean Maitland * Canterbury Ngāpuhi

Robbie Robinson * Southland Ngāti Tuwharetoa


Dane Coles * Wellington Ngāti Porou

Ben Afeaki * North Harbour Ngāti Awa

Romana Graham * Waikato Ngāti Awa

Hayden Triggs Otago Ngāti Kahungunu

Colin Bourke * Bay of Plenty Ngāti Wairere

Aaron Smith * Manawatu Ngāti Kahungunu

Dwayne Sweeney Waikato Ngāti Mahanga

Note: * denotes New Zealand Māori debutant