16 Jun 2010

Coach Dave Rennie names strong team for Under 20's clash with South Africa

5:55 pm on 16 June 2010

The New Zealand Under 20 rugby coach Dave Rennie has named the strongest team possible to take on South Africa in the semi-final of the Junior World Championship in Argentina on Friday morning.

Both sides topped their pools after cruising past their opposition and Rennie says South Africa will present a much bigger challenge for the defending champions New Zealand.

The Team is:

1. Angus Taavao-Matau (Auckland)

2. Liam Coltman (Otago)

3. Jeff Allen (Wellington)

4. Blade Thomson (Taranaki)

5. Liakimatagi Moli (Auckland)

6. Luke Whitelock (Canterbury)

7. Sean Polwart (Auckland)

8. Rory Grice (Waikato)

9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow (Waikato)

10. Tyler Bleyendaal (Canterbury, captain)

11. Telusa Veainu (Canterbury)

12. Charlie Ngatai (Wellington)

13. Star Timu (Hawke's Bay)

14. Julian Savea (Wellington)

15. Tom Marshall (Tasman)


16. Paul Ngauamo (Canterbury)

17. Willie Ioane (Manawatu)

18. Tom Franklin (Otago)

19. Matt Graham (North Harbour)

20. Kayne Hammington (Wellington)

21. Hayden Parker (Otago)

22. Jason Woodward (Wellington)