27 Jun 2010

All Black squad for Tri-Nations named

10:26 am on 27 June 2010

Front rowers John Afoa and Corey Flynn, loosie Liam Messam and second five Ma'a Nonu return to the All Black squad of 28 named for the Tri Nations.

Those missing out from the June series against Ireland and Wales are Aled de Malmanche, Neemia Tialata, Adam Thomson and Zac Guildford.

Flynn and Messam impressed playing for the New Zealand Maori, although the hooker does need to pass a fitness test later this week.

Lock Sam Sam Whitelock and utility back Rene Ranger, who provided injury cover for the All Blacks in the June tests, have also been officially selected in the All Blacks squad.

Coach Graham Henry says they're really pleased with the way the squad has developed during the June Series and the players are really looking forward to the Tri Nations.

Players not considered for selection due to injury include: Mike Delany (shoulder), Stephen Donald (shoulder), Jason Eaton (knee), Andrew Hore (shoulder), Sitiveni Sivivatu (shoulder), Isaia Toeava (hip) and Ali Williams (Achilles).

The All Blacks squad will begin preparations with a two-day camp in Auckland later this week.

The All Blacks first Test of the Tri Nations is the sold-out Test against South Africa at Eden Park on July 10th.

The squad is..... with province and caps...


John Afoa Auckland (23)

Anthony Boric North Harbour (15)

Tom Donnelly Otago (7)

Corey Flynn Canterbury (7)

Ben Franks Tasman (2)

Owen Franks Canterbury (12)

Jerome Kaino Auckland (27)

Richie McCaw (capt) Canterbury (83)

Keven Mealamu Auckland (74)

Liam Messam Waikato (3)

Kieran Read Canterbury (19)

Brad Thorn Canterbury (40)

Victor Vito Wellington (2)

Samuel Whitelock Canterbury (3)

Tony Woodcock North Harbour (63)


Daniel Carter Canterbury (69)

Jimmy Cowan Southland (36)

Aaron Cruden Manawatu (3)

Israel Dagg Hawke's Bay (2)

Cory Jane Wellington (15)

Richard Kahui Waikato (10)

Mils Muliaina Waikato (83)

Ma'a Nonu Wellington (46)

Rene Ranger Northland (1)

Josevata Rokocoko Auckland (62)

Conrad Smith Wellington (35)

Benson Stanley Auckland (3)

Piri Weepu Wellington (38)