30 Jun 2010

List of World Cup referees released

8:10 am on 30 June 2010

The referees at the centre of controversy in the Germany-England and Argentina-Mexico second round matches have not been retained for the remainder of the World Cup.

Uruguayan Jorge Larrionda, who refused to award a clear England goal, and Italian Roberto Rosetti, who allowed an offside Argentina goal to stand, were the two most high profile names to leave the tournament from the quarter-finals onwards.

England thought they had equalised against Germany in the second round on Monday when Frank Lampard's first-half lob clearly crossed the line but Larrionda waved play on.

Mexico were drawing nil-all before Carlos Tevez's headed goal stood although he was clearly offside.

Prior to the tournament Rosetti had courted very little controversy but in the group stages he sent off Australia's Harry Kewell for handball against Ghana in a 1-all draw.

Out of 29 referees who began the World Cup on June 11, 19 now remain.

The New Zealand referee Mike Hester and asistant Jan-Hendrik Hintz remain at the tournament.