4 Jul 2010

Power claims pole at Watkins Glen

9:59 am on 4 July 2010

The Australian driver Will Power has won pole position at the Watkins Glen International as Team Penske captured the top three spots for Monday's IndyCar Series race.

It was the eighth straight pole for Penske and the fifth pole of the season for Power, the series' points leader.

The Australian covered the 11-turn, 5.5-kilometre course in 1 minute, 29.3164 seconds and was followed by teammates Helio Castroneves and Ryan Briscoe.

Defending series champion Dario Franchitti was fourth, followed by Takuma Sato, and defending race winner Justin Wilson.

New Zealander Scott Dixon, who's second in the points standings, is in seventh position on the grid.