13 Jul 2010

Waikato name ITM Cup rugby squad

12:01 pm on 13 July 2010

Five new players have been named in the 27-strong 2010 Waikato NPC rugby squad, as well as two players returning to the province.

Loose forwards Zak Hohneck and Matt Vant Leven, lock Chris Middleton, wing Frank Halai and the ACT Brumbies first five Christian Lealiifano are the new faces with Steven Setephano returning to the Waikato fold from Otago and Toby Smith returning from injury.

Prop Nathan White, who has played 51 games for the Mooloos, will captain the Waikato side with seasoned halfback Brendan Leonard taking on the vice captain role.

The 2010 Waikato ITM Cup squad is:


Alex Bradley (Morrinsville Sports)

Aled de Malmanche (Hamilton Old Boys)

Hikairo Forbes (Melville)

Romana Graham (Hautapu)

Zak Hohneck (Otohanga)

Vern Kamo (Fraser Tech)

Jack Lam (Hamilton Marist)

Toby Lynn (Te Rapa)

Ben May (Te Awamutu Sports)

Chris Middleton (Te Awamutu Sports)

Steven Setephano (Hamilton Marist)

Toby Smith (Hamilton Old Boys)

Dominiko Waqaniburotu (Fraser Tech)

Nathan White (Te Awamutu Sports) - Captain

Matt Vant Leven (Fraser Tech)


Sosene Anesi (Hamilton Marist)

Stephen Donald (University)

Frank Halai (Hamilton Marist)

Tawera Kerr-Barlow (Hautapu)

Brendan Leonard (Morrinsville Sports) - Vice Captain

Christian Lealiifano (Marist)

Tim Mikkelson (University)

Trent Renata (Hamilton Marist)

Henry Speight (Hamilton Old Boys)

Dwayne Sweeney (Morrinsville Sports)

Savenaca Tokula (Fraser Tech)

Jackson Willison (Hamilton Old Boys)