28 Jul 2008

Four qualify from Oceania for Rugby World Cup Sevens 2009

6:34 am on 28 July 2008

Samoa and Australia have been crowned the men's and women's Oceania Sevens champions, securing their places at the Rugby World Cup Sevens in Dubai next March.

They will be joined there by Tonga and New Zealand, who by reaching the men's and women's finals respectively at Apia Park in Samoa, guaranteed themselves one of the two qualifying spots available in each competition from the Oceania region.

Oceania will now have five participants in the 24-team men's competition with defending champions Fiji, runners-up New Zealand and Australia qualifying automatically for the 2009 tournament.

Samoa overwhelmed Tonga 52-0 in the men's Cup final while Australia's victory was not so convincing with a try on the stroke of full-time securing a 22-15 victory over New Zealand, both teams now qualifiying for the first ever RWC Sevens women's competition.