11 Aug 2008

Manchester United win Community Shield

6:36 am on 11 August 2008

The Premier League champions Manchester United beat the FA Cup winners Portsmouth 3-1 on penalties after a goalless draw to win Eng.ish football's Community Shield at Wembley Stadium.

United, who also won the traditional curtain-raiser to the English season on penalties against Chelsea last season, should have wrapped the match up far earlier after dominating for most of the 90 minutes. No extra time was played.

Carlos Tevez, Ryan Giggs and Michael Carrick all converted for United while Jermain Defoe scored for Portsmouth. Lassana Diarra fired the first penalty over the bar while Arnold Mvuemba's shot was saved by Edwin van der Sar before Glen Johnson handed United victory by firing over the bar.

United, have now won the shield 13 times outright since it was first staged 100 years ago.